Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first 'REAL' hunt

My first 'REAL' hunt

Well, I've finally acquired my first detector, a Garrett Ace 350.

Under the solid-tutorage of my mentor, I've been working to learn what all the beeps, whirs, fuzzy do-ma-bobs and squeals mean that this critter utters. It's been both fun and frustrating. But I love a good challenge!

Today I left the 'ol salt mine' a little early, and ventured out to where I thought I remembered a small lean-to structure that was near an old mill site in the woods. After venturing to the location, and hiking around a bit, (quite a bit...) I determined it was going to be a bust. (but I did get to watch a beaver watching me for awhile away from the everyday 'stuff' we all deal with)

On my way home, I detoured to a well-used deer hunting camp. I sat in the Jeep and just looked at the area wondering if it was worth getting out, and where to start. I know I'm new to this, but how many of you have looked at a site with a complete blank as to where to start?

I decided 'What the heck' and went out to explore. About 10 minutes into my first 'hunt' for something totally random, I picked up a signal around three inches deep. Being a rookie I figured I had hit the mother lode, so I did my best pin-point maneuver to date (with no witnesses to see the puzzled expression on my face) and decided it was time to get some dirt under my finger nails. I brought up a badly rusted cigar tin, but hey, a find is a find, right?

[attachimg=1]

I figured I was in for a disappointing effort of old tin cans and crud, when about three feet away I picked up what seemed to be iron. I had the 350 on 'Relics' and it seemed to keep beeping low, so I figured 'what the heck'...