Thread: What is the best pin pointer?

What is the best pin pointer?

I'm new to it and wanting to buy a pinpointer to start digging. Ive got a whites mxt metal detector. Have read good things about the Orange Garrett. Any info is greatly apperciated

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello and welcome to the forum. When I started detecting I quickly found the value of a good pinpointer. I started with the orange Garrett AT which works pretty good and did the job well. But a while later I tried the Whites Bullseye TRX and it's now my preferred equipment. They are both eaterproof, which is nice. But what I like is that the TRX has maybe double the range of the Garrett, plus it doesn't have the side detection high up on the probe like the Garrett. This is important to me because the side detection had too often gotten me to dig 4 plus inches deeper than the target because it was actually in the sidewall of the hole instead of the bottom. Lastly, the TRX also uses either 2AA batteries or a single 9V battery which can save the day if you run out of one size but have the others as spares in the car. Also it Han help reduce battery types you need to keep on hand as spares especially if you carry a lot of backup stuff into the field on a long hike to your site.
    Almost forgot to mention, Whites also now has several bright color cases you can change time of you desire something other than basic black.
    Hope this helps, gl&hh!
    Last edited by Digger_O'Dell; 12-27-2016 at 01:00 AM.
    Equipment:
    Minelab: CTX 3030, GPX 4800, X-Terra 705. Whites TDI SL.

2023 Silver: 1 Gold: 0

Best finds: 28 silver dime spill, 1800s Dutch customs seal.
    Oldest/best coins: 1837 Upper Canada large cent, 1877 Seated Dime
    Oldest find: 1800 Sailors Luck token
    You Tube: Rediscovering America

So the whites is better? I'm just looking to do this for fun. I have several old homesteads and places with history to dig. Just don't know if anything is there.