Thread: Greetings from a Newbie

Greetings from a Newbie

Howdy All,

My handle is Lope_along, my name is Andrew, and I'm from northern Virginia.
    Just wanted to introduce myself since this seems to be a really nice forum and
    I'm looking forward to learning and sharing with others - although I don't have
    much experience yet.

I just got into this hobby last summer with a White's DFX and now I'm trying to learn
    my V3. It seems to be a great machine and although I'm no expert on either the V3
    or the DFX I think the new one from White's is really going to take off in popularity
    with the hobby. Previously, I have done some fossil hunting and gold prospecting
    in virginia - with okay results. Considering the huge development across all of No.
    Va., all three hobbies have the same challenge : Legal Access to productive ground.

My finds haven't been a lot so far but I learned a huge amount with help from some
    fine folks at DFXonly that are now also members here. I did just get my 1st silver coin
    last week. I'm very impressed with the need for research in this hobby as well as field work.
    Both are a lot of fun for me. I look forward to a great 2010 for detecting!

Lope_along

Veteran Member

Re: Greetings from a Newbie

Welcome from Chester County, PA. Also swinging the V3.
    Oldest: 1755 Spanish silver; 1800 half dime | 1842 seated half | 1857 seated quarter | 516 silver coins in 2011!

hello Andrew and welcome to American Detectorist , great intro . yes access is a common challenge in our hobby but your in a very old and historic part of the country and i wish you great success on your endeavors and look forward to seeing you post some great finds. both machines you have are top notch , take your time getting familiar with them and it will pay off.

Dan
    "Honesty is an expensive gift ,
    so don't expect it from cheap people"

XP Deus II , DFX ,TDI sl -

Click here to view my finds album