Thread: Old Coins From The Park - The Homecoming

Old Coins From The Park - The Homecoming

With their brilliant yellow leaves, the thick stands of quakie stood in stark contrast to the spruce and pine. In the shadows the Rocky Mountains, Autumn was revealing itself again in spectacular fashion. As we climbed in elevation a vast landscape of fall colors stretching out for miles unfolded before us. If you ever get a chance to drive the mountain passes of Colorado this time of year you will surely be in for a treat.

My Wife and I were on our way to Western Colorado to spend a few days visiting with family. Among the planned activities for the trip was a Friday night Homecoming football game. I was looking forward to this in hopes of touching base with a few old friends from the high school I graduated from almost 30 years ago. I had also brought along my detecting gear, and had planned to get out to a few hours of detecting in some of the old parks in the town of Grand Junction, Colorado. I was born and raised in this town, and despite not living there for the last 15 years, it's a place that my Wife and I still refer to as home.
    My first morning out found me in a new park that I had not hunted on previous trips. I had thought a lot about this park because it had an old school located off one corner of the park. My past experience has taught me that when these two features cross paths it always makes for a great metal detecting hunt. Just 30 minutes into the hunt the fun started...

The Homecoming.wmv

The Mercury Dime was the third 1917 Dime of the year. So close! The Indian was in poor shape, but a welcome find. The unknown coin ended up being another Wheat.

Just looking at the area could not have given any clues that this grassed school ground was once the edge of an old park. Using google earth and estimating the old road and sidewalks locations was key in getting to where the coins were.

Make sure and check out Randy's Article on Google map overlays...